Wild Sends Six Players to Participate in 2016 IIHF World Championship

The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild today announced that six players will participate in the 2016 IIHF World Championship, May 6-22 in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia.

Matt Dumba will play for Canada, Mikael Granlund and Mikko Koivu will play for Finland, Christoph Bertschy (pronounced Burr-chee) and Nino Niederreiter will play for Switzerland and Jordan Schroeder will play for the United States.

The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round. The top four ranked teams in each group will advance to the quarterfinals that will be played in a cross-over format on May 19.

The first-place team in each preliminary-round group will play the fourth-place team in the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group.

The semifinals will be held on May 21 and the gold-medal game will be played on May 22. NBC Sports Network will televise and stream (NBC Sports Live Extra) all United States games in the tournament.

[Minnesota Wild press release]
Why Haven’t the Wild Been As Successful At Home This Year?
By Luke Sims - Jan 25, 2023
Can We Believe In Filip Gustavsson Yet?
By Tony Abbott - Jan 20, 2023

Building a Mount Rushmore of Kaprizov Goals

Folks, we’ve made it. 100 goals from Kirill Kaprizov, with the promise of many more to come. So at this historic moment, let’s take a quick look […]

Continue Reading